What’s a TMA?

TMA stands for Transportation Management Association. The Merrimack Valley TMA is one of 15 similar organizations across the state that focus on improving commuting options and reduce traffic congestion in an effort to save commuters money and improve air quality.
The MVTMA earns its revenue through membership dues received from our members and through a grant provided by MassDOT. We reinvest that money to provide solutions and incentive programs to commuters in the Merrimack Valley region who are committed to sharing their commute (via ridesharing, biking, walking or taking public transportation to/from work).

About Us

The Merrimack Valley TMA was founded as the River Road Transportation Management Association (RRTMA) in 1997. The TMA is a non-profit organization composed of employers and property owners who are working together to address employee transportation issues in the Merrimack Valley area of Andover and along the I-93 and I-495 corridors.

The River Road area and the neighboring communities of Haverhill, Lawrence, Methuen, and North Andover have seen an unprecedented amount of development over the past few years. This has resulted in a significant amount of traffic. As traffic congestion in the region continued to increase, the River Road TMA expanded to address related region-wide traffic issues in the communities of Lawrence, Methuen, North Andover and in 2010, the TMA expanded its service area to include Haverhill. The TMA has enhanced its role to serve as a resource for employers to comply with the Massachusetts Rideshare regulations, advocate for commuter-oriented and sustainability legislation, and serve as a forum for the exchange of information and ideas that impact economic development in the greater Andover region.

Meet Our Team

Andrea Leary
Andrea LearyExecutive Director
Andrea Leary is the president and founder of Northeast Transit Planning & Management Corp. She has extensive experience working with the public sector, numerous municipalities and cities as well as a variety of private sector clients. Ms. Leary specializes in the development of public-private partnerships to support improved access and congestion reduction, and economic development through transportation demand management. She is currently serving as the Executive Director for the Merrimack Valley Transportation Management Association, the North Shore Transportation Management Association and the Junction Transportation Management Organization and as the Immediate Past Managing Director of MassCommute (the Massachusetts TMA Council) serving as a core member of the organization’s executive committee.
Al Marrone
Al MarroneOutreach Manager
Al Marrone serves as the Outreach Manager for the Merrimack Valley Transportation Management Association. In this capacity, Mr. Marrone is responsible for the managing and reporting functions of three of the TMA’s signature programs – Guaranteed Ride Home, Green to Work, and the Bay State Commute Ridematching & Rewards program as well as supporting commute planning for member employees/tenant residents. Mr. Marrone has extensive experience in business development and client services providing similar roles in the private sector before he began working for the TMA. He also currently serves as the Outreach Manager for the North Shore Transportation Management Association and the Junction Transportation Management Organization.
Gretchen Grosky
Gretchen GroskyProgram and Communication Manager
Gretchen Grosky is the MVTMA’s program and communication manager. Gretchen spent nearly two decades working in the Merrimack Valley, mostly as a reporter and editor for The Eagle-Tribune. In 2013, she launched her own consulting business helping communities, businesses, political candidates, and nonprofits with communications strategies, media relations training, and more. She lives in Atkinson, N.H. with her husband Jason, their three children, two cats, one dog and Scooter the Tortoise.

Board of Directors

The Merrimack Valley TMA’s Board of Directors serve for a two-year term beginning September 1, 2016 and concluding in August 31, 2018.

(Board members are listed in alphabetical order)
Tom Chretien – Philips
Gerry-Lynn Darcy – Lupoli Companies
Joe DiFraia – CBRE-NE
Marlene Hoyt – Enterprise Bank
Carol Jones – Wood Partners
Kevin Lemire – Putnam Investments
Steve Maffetone – Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Ken Pirro – Eisai Research Institute


green to work
guaranteed ride home
Ride Matching Program